“Roses are Red, violets are Blue, someday we’ll cruise down Blood Gulch Avenue”

This series is immature, goofy, bizarre, crass and filled with expletives. And, god help me, I love every minute of it.

 

Be warned: there may be spoilers ahead. Probably a lot and most likely big ones. That being said…let’s talk Red vs. Blue.

First off, I have to admit I’ve never played Halo. I’ve played some co-op with my son here and there but never the full game series from start to finish. I first started watching it because my son was and it seemed pretty funny. And it is. Probably not to everyone, which I’ll freely admit. It can be crass and crude, especially at the start, but it evolved past that and turned into so much more.

What began as episodic goofiness turned into an actual plot with a coherent storyline by season six. The Freelancer plotline was action-packed, mysterious and held some truly heart breaking moments.

It’s amazing how much personality the team at Rooster Teeth gave a bunch of faceless helmets. You really feel like you know the Reds (Sarge, Grif, Simmons, Donut and Lopez) and the Blues (Church/Alpha/Epsilon, Tucker and Caboose and Washington). Even the side characters that show up from time to time, such as Tex, Doc/O’Malley, Sis and Junior all have personalities of their own.

Some animated movies and shows can manipulate you into feeling with pre-planned emotion wrenching scenes (yes, RvB has it’s share of those and god do they work) but some of the most painful moments in RvB are some that are not dwelt upon in the show but linger in the viewer’s mind long after. I can’t speak for every viewer but they certainly did in mine. Such as the torture of the Alpha AI and the futility of the Beta AI. They are brought up in the show but never explored to their fullest. But they don’t have to beat the viewer to death with it. They assume (correctly) that the viewer can comprehend what they’re trying to say without shoving it in our faces.

The Chorus storyline that has begun in recent seasons is just as good. We’ve met some interesting new allies and enemies and gotten reunited with some old acquaintances. I never really knew how much I missed O’Malley but I actually cheered when he popped up. Carolina is much less whiny than in season 10 so she’s become a really good character and Dr. Emily Grey? Fuck yeah! I love her!

With how Season 13 ended I’m excited (and scared) to see what’s to come in Season 14. I really hope something will change. I’ll even accept a deus ex machina. Anything except losing Epsilon. I’m not holding out much hope though.

I had bought the song ‘Contact’ before watching Season 13 so I was afraid someone was going to die. Really my only reasoning is that the only other time they’ve had a slow, sad sounding song was when CT died. So, yeah, all through watching 13 I was on the edge of my seat, just waiting for it. And I was not wrong. Fortunately it was not one of the main people (yet) but it was a funny and likeable minor character that I will miss. They did give Doyle a true heroes death though. And a little bit of an ironic one with the speech that Church/Epsilon gives later.

The ending of Season 13 is one hell of a cliffhanger that I’m sure will be followed up by one hell of an opening for season 14.

I’m really impressed that they took a basically one-note format and turned it into a successful and hopefully long-running series. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for the future of the Reds and Blues.

Also, their other show RWBY is certainly worth checking out. It’s a little cleaner in the language and themes so it’s a little more family friendly.

Time to wrap it up, I suppose. Just one other word of warning, this show is definitely not for the insanely PC crowd do if you’re easily offended then you should probably give it a miss. Our, you can take it for the spirit which it’s intended and at least check it out.

And one last thing. Although the main characters are male, the real ass-kickers of the show are definitely the ladies of RvB. They rock. And they’re fully fleshed out characters as well. Except maybe Sister. She is an enigma unto herself.

The music is pretty great too, especially in the later seasons.  Contact, Forever, Falling Toward the Sky,  and On Your Knees  are particular favorites of mine. And, of course, the main theme  Blood Gulch Blues. Don’t say I didn’t warn you though if  Forever  leaves you curled up in a corner with your soul crying. It’s that good. Most of the music seems to be done by Trocadero and Jeff and Casey Williams. I’m not too sure about season 13 though. Jeff and Casey also do a lot of the music on RWBY which has some great music as well.

As always, press feel free to comment and I always welcome constructive criticism. I’m also still doing #Mp3A-Z over on Twitter. I’m still in the H’s on the list so feel free to pop over and check out some lyrics and bands. I’ve also been working my way through Shadow Hearts on the PS2 and sometimes do some live tweets while I’m playing do if you’d like to check that out as well here’s my Twitter handle. Areyouscaredyet@GracieKat13. I’d put a link but for some reason it’s not letting me.

 

See you soon! Still have a lot to catch up on!

 

 

 

