Hello all! It’s been awhile but there has been absolutely nothing happening. At all. I’ve been wanting to do some more on my hardcore Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls character but, as of yet, I have been unable to get near the tv. Anyways, time to catch up!

In January I began a challenge through Goodreads. It was how many horror books I could read in a year.

I may have over-estimated myself in my goal of reading 150 books in a year. I have 4 to my credit so far. But, summer is just around the bend and really, that’s when I get the majority of free time to read. I will keep you guys updated as I go.

In the comments section feel free to talk books with me or make a suggestion, I’m always open to new books and ideas. Or, if you’d like to, you can keep track along with me in the comments section and let me know what you guys are reading. I’d love to know!

So, here’s what I have so far. To make it a little more interesting for my current book I’m going through my TBR pile alphabetically. I will also try to do reviews as I go but I read a lot of collections and anthologies and they’re a little more difficult to review well since there are so many different stories to each one. But. I’ll try my best.

1.  Black Spirits and White: Ghost Stories  by  Ralph Adams Cram          4/6 

                                                 

Black Spirits and White was very good. I’m sure you’ve noticed I don’t use the 5/5 format for ratings. Frankly, it bugs me because the three is uneven. That’s really the only reason why. Anywho, back to the stories. Even the ones I rated right in the middle were very good and the visuals were described very well. I read somewhere that the author also wrote books on architecture and I can well believe it because the descriptions of buildings are very thorough and vivid. Notre Dame Des Eaux had some great imagery in particular. The other stories that stood out for me were No. 252 Rue M. Le Prince and The Dead Valley.

 

2. Aberrations  edited by Jeremy C. Shipp      4/6

A few of the stories didn’t thrill me but other people might like them better. Definitely a good buy. The three standouts for me were Money Well Earned, Beggars at Dawn and From Hamlin to Harperville.

 

3.  Ghost Story by Peter Straub               5/6    

 https://wordpress.com/post/areyouscaredyetblog.wordpress.com/223      

 

4. House of Fear edited by Jonathan Oliver  4/6                                         

A good book with a good mix of stories. The writing quality was great throughout and the stories I rated low were more for their subject matter rather than the writing quality. The standouts in this collection for me were Pied-a-Terre, The Muse of Copenhagen, An Injustice, The Room Upstairs, Moretta, Villanova, and The House.

 

So, that’s where I am now. I just started The Annotated Supernatural Horror in Literature  by H.P. Lovecraft, annotated by S.T. Joshi. To be honest I’m not a huge fan of S.T. Joshi. I read his biography of Lovecraft and was not impressed. With Joshi, anyway. He interjected way too many of his own opinions of Lovecraft’s work and acted like anyone who thought differently had no taste and was an idiot. So far,  it’s pretty good. Comment free, at least. 

 

I’ll keep you updated on the upcoming books and I’ll give a review of the current one when I’m finished.      

Also, on Twitter I’ve been going through my MP3 player from A-Z tweeting lyrics and the songs. No real reason. I get bored at night and I love music so I thought I’d share. And hey, if someone finds a song they like, awesome. If you’d like to follow along my Twitter handle is:  https://twitter.com/GracieKat13

I also tweet bits and pieces from the books I’m currently reading.

As always I’d love to hear from you guy. Feel free to comment, tweet me, whatever.

 

 

 

 

                                                                         

 

 

 

 

 

